Ordinary

I’ve been a mite discouraged lately with the slowness of spring coming. I know it’s coming, I know. Perhaps some of this is because I am impatient in all areas of my life right now. God is working on my heart in certain areas…and I’m ready to move on to the next thing. I thrived on adventure and change for eight some years of my life…and now life is slowing down into the ho-hum and mundane of dishes, laundry, 8:30-4 routine of working, and daily exercise. I want something fresh and new to work on…but outdoors isn’t quite ready for my ambitious plans and sewing and crafting has a limit too. I long for something exciting…but God is pleased to see me in a place of ordinariness.

Ordinariness isn’t bad, I tell myself. I’ve been having some recent conversations about the timing of God and what God expects from His children. And when I slow down and really think about that and the reality that God moves and works in ordinary ways and means, then I am thankful.

Thankful that God expects us to do the next thing next. Thankful that we can delight and please Him when we are obedient when we are cheerful, do the laundry, do the dishes, make our beds. Thankful that God is slow, methodical…thorough.

I move quickly. I think quickly. I speak quickly (I think I should’ve been an auctioneer). Maybe God is slowing down life right now so I can learn to delight in the ordinariness of life. Too often I rush and I don’t see the beauty; I don’t see the simple beauty of a crocus pushing itself out of the ground or the delightful buddings of the trees around me. Too often I move on to the next thing and I forget; forget to remember the faithful God, forget that my strength and dependence comes from Him. Too often I drum my fingers on the steering wheel to speed off to a destination; I neglect the basic duty of loving my neighbour simply, perhaps greeting the cashier by name or praying for the mother in aisle three with a screaming toddler.

I can be careless in my hurriedness, on my rush to find the next big thing that will satisfy my itch to be busy and involved in something more. But God is methodical and thorough. I need to learn from Him. Sit awhile and listen. Get to know before moving in with answers and advice. Return to a recently discussed topic instead of picking up another topic to discuss and think about. Savour the words in a book and think about how the concept spoken of can be applied or delight in the power of words and word-smithery. I demand and expect what things or technology cannot deliver because it is not human. I demand and expect what people cannot deliver because they are like me, weak, limited…ordinary. So I slow down and let people and things operate within their creational limits.

As I close this somewhat disjointed ramble, I am thankful and humbled. God is delighted in our ordinary obediences. God is delighted in the mundane of life when we do it for His glory. God is delighted when I allow technology to be finite and limited. God is delighted when I wait for Him. Lord, help us all to be still and give ourselves over to your perfect timing. You’ve promised that after winter, spring will come.

 

There is something about fog that creates stillness… 

I made a wreath and it makes me so happy! 

Leave a comment